Home » Robert Burns and Pastoral: Poetry and Improvement in Late Eighteenth-Century Scotland by Nigel Leask
Robert Burns and Pastoral: Poetry and Improvement in Late Eighteenth-Century Scotland Nigel Leask

Robert Burns and Pastoral: Poetry and Improvement in Late Eighteenth-Century Scotland

Nigel Leask

Published July 1st 2010
ISBN :
Kindle Edition
324 pages
Enter the sum

 About the Book 

Robert Burns and Pastoral is a full-scale reassessment of the writings of Robert Burns (1759-1796), arguably the most original poet writing in the British Isles between Pope and Blake, and the creator of the first modern vernacular style in BritishMoreRobert Burns and Pastoral is a full-scale reassessment of the writings of Robert Burns (1759-1796), arguably the most original poet writing in the British Isles between Pope and Blake, and the creator of the first modern vernacular style in British poetry. Although still celebrated as Scotlands national poet, Burns has long been marginalised in English literary studies worldwide, due to a mistaken view that his poetry is linguistically incomprehensible and of interest toScottish readers only. Nigel Leask challenges this view by interpreting Burnss poetry as an innovative and critical engagement with the experience of rural modernity, namely to the revolutionary transformation of Scottish agriculture and society in the decades between 1760 and 1800, thereby resituating itwithin the mainstream of the Scottish and European enlightenments. Detailed study of the literary, social, and historical contexts of Burnss poetry explodes the myth of the Heaven-taught ploughman, revealing his poetic artfulness and critical acumen as a social observer, as well as his significance as a Romantic precursor. Leask discusses Burnss radical decision to write Scots pastoral (rather than English georgic) poetry in the tradition of Allan Ramsay and Robert Fergusson, focusing onthemes of Scottish and British identity, agricultural improvement, poetic self-fashioning, language, politics, religion, patronage, poverty, antiquarianism, and the animal world. The book offers fresh interpretations of all Burnss major poems and some of the songs, the first to do so since ThomasCrawfords landmark study of 1960. It concludes with a new assessment of his importance for British Romanticism and to a Four Nations understanding of Scottish literature and culture.